EKISC is governed by an eight-member Board of Directors who represent stakeholders, including at-risk industries and recreational pursuits, with an interest in protecting the East Kootenay from invasive species. The Board Members are drawn from provincial and local governments, agriculture, non-governmental environment organizations, and the private sector. 

EKISC also has several committees that work on specialized areas that affect EKISC operating activities. These committees are comprised of volunteers, Board Members, and staff. Committee members have terms of one year and generally require less commitment that directorships on the Board. Committees include:


The Society Constitution and Bylaws list the specific purposes of EKISC as a registered non-profit society. An Annual report is produced summarizing education, inventory, coordination and treatment activities each year. An AGM is held in April, a General Meeting in October, and Planning Sessions through the winter. Field tours and Forums alternate each year.

Finance and Fundraising

Planning & Strategic Priorities

Education & Outreach

Human Resources

Board Development


Industry Outreach


Board of Directors

We are grateful to the Board of Directors who volunteer their time, and bring their expertise and passion to their work with us.

Golden Shovel Award

Since 2010, the East Kootenay Invasive Species Council has selected an organization and/or individual who have made significant contributions to invasive plant management efforts in the region. We call this the Golden Shovel Award.

EKISC presents this distinguished recognition award at our Annual General Meeting each spring.


2017- Dan Murphy

2016 - Sandra Loewen

2015 - Phil Burk and Rick Thompson 

2014 - Faye Street

2013 - Sue Crowley

2012 - Heidi Trescher

2011  -Bill Bennett

2010 - Kevin Paterson

Pat and her veggies.jpg

2018 Recipient:

Pat Wray

Randy Harris


Private Consultant

Pam Turyk

Vice Chair

Kootenay Livestock Association

Stephanie Nadja



Jamie Davies


Regional District of the East Kootenay

Rick Van Horne 


Public Representative

Dave Peck 


Public Representative

Stephanie Daniels


Ministry of Transportation and Infrastructure

Lily Durham


Waldo Stockbreeders Association

Jim Campbell


Backcountry Hunters and Anglers

Rick Tegart


Windermere and District Farmers' Institute

Shawna Larade


Ministry of Forests, Lands, and Natural Resource Operations and Rural Development